Stroud Jordan Award 2001

Melvin O. Warnecke, PhD

The next Stroud Jordan award will be presented this month at the annual American Association of Candy Technologists (AACT) Technical Seminar. This year's recipient is Melvin O. Warnecke, PhD, of Warnecke Technical, Inc.

The award is presented by the AACT in honor of the late Dr. Stroud Jordan, a pioneer candy technologist. The purpose of the award is to recognize outstanding contributions to the field of confectionery technology.

Dr. Warnecke began his career as a research scientist at Armour and Company before joining CPC International. After gaining experience in carbohydrate applications, he joined E.J. Brach and Sons in 1974 as director of research and development where he advanced to the level of vice president of technical services.



In 1988 Dr. Warnecke left Jacob-Suchard Brach to join Brock Candy Company in a similar capacity.

His technical service organization, Warnecke Technical, was started in 1994 to facilitate product and process development, quality assurance programs and training.

Dr. Warnecke has been a lecturer and instructor for many associations within the industry, including the National Confec-

tioners Association (NCA) Candy Schools, PMCA Production Conferences and Institute of Food Technologists (IFT) workshops.

As part of the AACT Technical Seminar, Dr. Warnecke will accept the Stroud Jordan award at a banquet September 19, 2001, at Callaway Gardens resort in Pine Mountain, Georgia, USA.

Past Recipients of the Stroud Jordan Award

2000 Ed Seguine; Guittard Chocolate 1999 Jack Collins; Collins Technical Ltd. 1998 James McGovern; Peerless Confections 1997 Richard Schier; Schier Specialty Sales 1996 Reg Groves; Groves & Co. 1995 Joachim (Joe) H. von Elbe, PhD; Univ. of Wisconsin 1994 Carl O. Moore; AE Staley Manufacturing 1993 Allen R. Allured; Manufacturing Confectioner 1992 Patrick J. Huffman; Grace Cocoa 1991 Walter Vink; Planters LifeSavers 1990 Patrick Hurley; Spangler Candy Co. 1989 Maurice Jeffery; Hershey Chocolate 1988 John Kitt; Planters LifeSavers 1987 Odvar Solstad; Stephen F. Whitman Co. 1986 William N. Duck; Helme Tobacco Co. 1985 (no recipient) 1984 George Jenkins; Tom's Foods 1983 George Richardson; Warner Lambert 1982 Silvio Crespo; Wilbur Chocolate 1981 Bernard Minifie; Knechtel Labs 1980 Donald Mitchell: Bakers Chocolate 1979 John A. Kooreman; Penick and Ford 1978 Robert P. Allen; E.J. Brach & Sons 1977 Bart Siebers; The Nestlé Co. 1976 Llovd Latten; consultant 1975 Gerald Doolin; NCA

1974 Horton Corwin; Brock Candy Co. 1973 Simon O. Schnitzer; Leaf Confections 1972 Fred Janssen; Sucrest Sugar Co. 1971 Elwood W. Meyers; Hershey Chocolate 1970 Gordon R. Maybee; Cadbury Chocolate Ltd. 1969 L. Russell Cook; Ambrosia Chocolate Co. 1968 Herbert Knechtel: Knechtel Labs 1967 Jay C. Musser; Klein Chocolate Co. 1966 Rodney Welch; Wilbur Chocolate Co. 1965 John W. Vassos; Stephen F. Whitman Co. 1964 Prudence W. Allured; Manufacturing Confectioner 1963 Archie B. Cramer; F&F Labs 1962 W. Tresper Clarke; Wm. Neilson Co. 1961 Samuel F. Hinkle; Hershey Chocolate Co. 1960 Katherine E. Langwill; Refined Syrups and Sugars 1959 Otto H. Windt; E.J. Brach & Sons 1958 Horace B. Cosler; Quartermaster Dept. U.S. Army 1957 Norman Kempf; Walter Baker Chocolate 1956 John M. Krno; Corn Products Co. 1955 C. Rudolph Kroeckel; Kroeckel Ottinger Co. 1954 Justin J. Alikonis; Paul F. Beich Co. 1953 Hans F. Dresel; Felton Chemical 1952 James P. Booker; Nulomoline Co. 1951 James A. King; Nulomoline Co.